My fav DIY cleaner

I’ve been making this toilet bowl cleaner for a couple months now…I don’t know how many recipes I looked at on Pinterest before I settled on two…I tried them both and then modified the one I liked best. The original recipe had vinegar in it, but after doing some research, I found that YOU CAN’T MIX VINEGAR AND CASTILE SOAP! (http://www.lisabronner.com/a-word-of-caution-about-vinegar-and-castile-soap/) Do you know how many DIY cleaning recipes I’ve pinned that broke this very important rule?? And it’s really not just a rule, it’s actual science. So don’t do it, or you’ll be wasting your time. And fyi, I bought the gallon jug of Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap at Whole Foods for only $38. Elsewhere, (Vitacost and Amazon included), it runs about $55. Yikes. Plus, you can get scented varieties with essential oils ALREADY IN THE SOAP. Bonus! Here’s my recipe:

1/2 cup baking soda

1/4 cup liquid castile soap

1 cup hot water

10 drops essential oil (optional)

Super easy and cleans really well! Just make sure you measure ingredients…I didn’t last time and I ended up with a big hard lump next time I went to use the cleaner.

One thought on “My fav DIY cleaner

Leave a Reply

