Why Typical Household Cleaners Are So Bad For Your Health

I have to admit, I’ve always wondered why buying ‘green’ cleaning products was so important. I thought it was much more important to watch what you put into your body, limiting pesticides and buying organic. I still think those things are very important, but after delving further into the matter, I’ve discovered some interesting facts:

  • We can absorb things through our skin…if it’s used on surfaces in our home, it can not only touch our skin but also be absorbed through the air.
  • Some all-purpose cleaners contain diethanolamine (DEA) and triethanolamine (TEA). When these substances come into contact with nitrites, (often present as undisclosed preservatives or contaminants), they react to form nitrosamines – carcinogens that readily penetrate the skin.
  • When you wash cleaners down the drain, they go into our water system. Most ingredients break down into harmless substances but not all.
  • Chemicals released when using cleaning supplies contribute to chronic respiratory problems, allergic reactions and headaches.
  • A common ingredient in window cleaners (that is NOT required by law to be listed on ingredient labels!) can cause sore throats when inhaled and at high levels can also contribute to narcosis, pulmonary edema, and severe liver and kidney damage (an enclosed bathroom is considered a place of potential high levels)

These are just a few of the things I learned. There’s much more information out there, and even more that we don’t know yet! This must be why my brother who had asthma could never walk down the cleaning product aisle at the supermarket. And why, after using my own diy cleaners for nearly a year, the smell of Lysol is suddenly repugnant to me (and no, I’m not preggie, so that’s not it! 😉 ).

Natural cleaners do just as well as commercial cleaners. I use vinegar and water to clean my floors and counters, often with a little tea tree oil for boosted anti-everything properties (bacterial, viral, and fungus, ew!). I posted my recipe for toilet bowl cleaner here (https://dontcallmesupermom.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/my-fav-diy-toilet-bowl-cleaner/) and you can always use baking soda as a good sink/grout scourer. There are many natural solutions if you look for them, and the best part is, they’re usually cheaper!

I found a lot of great information on this site https://www.organicconsumers.org/news/how-toxic-are-your-household-cleaning-supplies though I referenced many more for this post! Please do your own research as well; don’t just take my word for it! And do what you can to lessen the toxic burden on your body whenever possible. Every little bit counts!

Click the button below to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

