Happy birthday to me…

It was my birthday this weekend. The following post will likely sound jaded, whiny, and self-centered. But we all have our days, right?

Birthdays suck exponentially the older you get. I should know by now to stop expecting certain things, like oh, say peace and quiet. Being waited on hand and foot. Having my deepest desires fulfilled before I can even utter the words. Think maybe I’m being unrealistic? I do too. But on my birthday, it’s like I’m a little girl again, and the world is my oyster. Anything is possible, even peace and quiet. When my birthday rolls around, I have all these high expectations and the first whine I hear out of my kid, I feel like stomping my foot and exclaiming, “But it’s my birthday!! You can’t misbehave!!”. Then when they’re hungry, I want to bark, “Well, so am I, and it’s MY birthday, so why don’t you make us BOTH some food, kid??”. But that doesn’t work so well with a toddler and a baby. Maybe when they’re older.

But I mean, really…it was my birthday and all I wanted was for someone to make me an egg sandwich and cut me up a peach for dinner. I got the sandwich, but had to cut my own peach. *sob*

I did end up having an enjoyable birthday weekend, though at times it was stressful (and I was mean). I made my hubby take the day off because spending time with him is the best gift I could receive (should have posted a sap warning there!) and my parents and a niece came to celebrate. My mom’s birthday is next week, so we had a dual celebration. We played games, we ate cake, we had presents, we played outside and I sprayed all the kids with a hose (bwahaha!).

So what is the moral of this story? Should I expect less? Should I be less self-centered? Or maybe I should just take things as they come, and be glad I had a peach, even though I had to cut it up myself.

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday to me…

  1. I feel the same way. I always have too high expectations for my birthday. At the end of the day, I feel let down and cheated. I always make a big deal out of my kids’ and husband’s birthdays so why shouldn’t they do that for me? The thing is that birthdays aren’t important to the hubs. (at least not his own) so he has to make an extra special effort to really acknowledge mine at all. THEN if he actually tries to surprise me, I always find it somewhere so I have to pull off an oscar winning performance. He’s not good at covering his tracks. I already know what’s coming my way in a couple weeks bc he accidentally texted it to my mom who showed me the text and said “what do you think this is about?” I politely said my birthday and she felt terrible. Nice. Happy belated birthday to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My hubby doesn’t get excited about birthdays either, though he always remembers to get me a nice gift. But sadly, we have to learn to accept that no one is going to throw us a princess or superhero themed party, invite all our friends, and rent a bouncy house. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

